I weep and I ask…

I weep and I ask.. what's worse?

Unable to meet your loved ones
To see them that one last time.
Or, watching them fade away bit by bit
Right in front of your eyes.

Twisting and turning in bed at night
'Cause, you're dreading that call.
Or, opening your eyes to a new day,
Just for your ears to hear the new loss.

Having every blessing in the world
But the one that you need the most.
Or, desperate; ready to part with everything you
hold dear, just to be able to pay the cost.

Leaving behind your people with pain,
Sorrow and despair, amid the horrid curse.
Or, barely surviving after living the ordeals,
Praying to get the irreversible reversed.


I weep and I ask... is this the end?

Is this the dystopian future? because surely, 
No one deserves to live out these horrors.
There is anguish, pain, and hopelessness,
all over, and a long line of wailing mourners.

From those who have lived the nightmare
Can we take away some of their agony?
Is all hope lost? Is there still some time?
Can we unite and put an end to this misery?

A small glimmer of hope says, we shall
Overcome this situation, however dire.
We shall stay strong and help each other
For only we can extinguish the nation's pyre.

Need to be apart, but let's fight together
Don't go out; at your homes, you stay.
Just do your bit to end the war, and
After this long night, we'll see the day.

2 thoughts on “I weep and I ask…

Leave a comment